Enjoying a good day of baking

One of the things I love about my home is the kitchen.  I love having lots of room to bake and store cool baking tools that  I use once in a blue moon.  This has resulted in a several really cool cakes being made including two surprise cakes for my nephews.  Recently my brother celebrated his birthday and I decided to make him his favorite cake…from scratch.

Spice Cake

2 1/4 cup flour

3/4 cup applesauce

3/4 cup Vegetable oil

1 tsp gingerIMG_0309

4 eggs’

1/2 tsp allspice

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 3/4 cups brown sugar

2 1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup cloves

1 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp salt

Cream Cheese Frosting

16 oz cream cheese

2 sticks of butter

6 cups powdered sugar

2 tsp vanilla


Overall this was a combination of different recipes.  The first recipe I found had cornstarch in it and I was out of that and the second had buttermilk in it and well that isn’t something I just tend to keep handy.

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

2. whisk together your dry ingredients (flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, clove, ginger, allspice, cinnamon, and nutmeg)

IMG_0315

3. Cream together the brown sugar, vegetable oil, vanilla and applesauce.

4. Beat in eggs one at a time until well combined.

IMG_0314

5. Slowly add in dry ingredients and mix until smooth.

 

IMG_0317Then you are going to grease two 9 inch round cake tins.

Evenly distribute the batter between the two and bake for 30 minutes (give or take your own oven).

Once the cake is done (meaning a toothpick comes out clean) run a knife along the rim of each cake and then let the cakes cool for ten minutes in the tin.  After they have cooled for ten minutes remove from the tins and allow them to cool completely before frosting.


To make the cream cheese frosting make sure your cream cheese and butter are at room temperature. Cream together until smooth the cream cheese and butter.  Slowly add in the vanilla and powdered sugar.  Don’t add the powdered sugar all at once or you will get an explosion of white sweetness in your face.  Once it is all blended it should be ivory in color.


To decorate my spice cake I first put a dollop of cream cheese frosting onto my cake spinner.  This way when I placed my first cake it would adhere to the base and not risk moving when I decorate.  If you don’t have a cake leveler or don’t want to waste any cake, place the first cake top side down so that the dome of the cake is on the bottom. Then evenly add a layer of frosting onto the cake.  Place the second cake also dome side down so you have a flat surface to frost.  Now you will want to frost the cake with a light layer of frosting to fill in any cracks or openings along the edges.  This light layer of frosting is called the crumb coat and will seal in any loose crumbs once refrigerated.

After you have let the crumb coat set proceed to decorate.  In my family they love frosting so I did a hefty amount of frosting and topped with a sprinkle of brown sugar, powder sugar and cinnamon. IMG_0320


What I will say about this recipe is it makes a lot of cake.  Overall the flavor was delicious but the batter made more of a consistency of banana bread.  It was a little more dense than I was expecting. I realize now it’s because I didn’t have the extra liquid from the buttermilk and should have gone with my gut and added more applesauce or a dash of milk.  Flavor wise it was delicious and the frosting you could just eat by the spoonful.


Hopefully you enjoy the break from a normal blog and liked the cake recipe.  If anyone tries it let me know how you tweaked it 🙂

Games we played this week: Lanterns, Patchwork, Sushi Go, Clank

Game to be reviewed: Patchwork is a game I have looked at for a while because it’s a game about quilting.  I always thought that this game would be okay but that the flavor was one that you wouldn’t pick up unless you know someone or personally quilted yourself.  So this game has sat on my amazon wish list for a while staring at me.  Recently it went on sale and I decided to finally pick it up.  The game is simple enough to understand it has a simple placing and purchasing mechanism that you don’t worry much.  When playing it had a feel similar to Blokus but instead of knowing which pieces you have you are in a game of strategy against another player trying to get the pieces you want without leaving them able to get all the pieces they need as well.  Set up was easy to understand if you can quickly look over  a rule book you will have the game down in less than 5 minutes.  The scoring at the end is brutal because for each empty square you lose two points.  It’s not all about finishing the game first which is nice.  I lost and still enjoyed playing it because it was a quick game that was a medium level of strategy without the difficulty or resource management issues that often go along with strategy games.  nice game to kill time or set up when you have 1/2 and hour to sit down and play a game with a friend.  Will be playing again.

Do you have any games you recommend or enjoy playing regularly.  Let me know 🙂

Until next time 🙂

~Reave~

 

Leave a Reply

