Little bit of a catch up

Overall, I think our house runs on a pretty good system.  There is a certain level of chaos but we have an 8.5 month old chaos is to be expected.  This chaos increases when the plan changes, and that’s when it takes a village to keep everything going.

Normally my mom watches the little pipsqueak during the week.  It works out great overall and he definitely loves his Memaw time.  We are so thankful for this ability to have him raised around family and the fact that we don’t have to have him in day care is such an added benefit for us.

But when things happen (or get planned) that means that my dear husband gets to balance working from home and daddy-daycare it makes things a little more interesting.  This past week was one of those times.  This is when the village mentality is amazing.  With an unexpected trip to NY on the books for my mom we knew we would have to figure out a plan for our little man.  So with the help of a family friend, and one of our best friends, we got the time covered for the most part.

We wouldn’t know what we would do without these people, since hubs works from home it would be (and is) very easy to get distracted by the adorable baby giggles that occur regularly.  Let alone the cranky scream of hungry, tired, or overall boredom.  So with a family friend watching him at the house in the morning two of the days, our friend gladly accepting baby duty a third day it meant only two afternoons would be a tad less productive.

Once these baby day-care responsibilities were handled, that allowed us to actually spend time with our friend.  We played a lot of board games, and I am sure we could have played more, but I haven’t quite figured out the sleep deprived, parent and friend balance (it’s hard they should make a manual or something).  At the end of the weekend, I was so happy to have hung out with my friend, but it did point out some weaknesses in myself.

Things I want to work on before the next fun board gaming weekend:

  1.  Mitigate the chaos I can control
  2.  Ask for help in regards to when I am feeling overwhelmed
  3. Don’t feel guilty about not being able to be the same person I was before having a kid.
  4. Don’t feel guilty that my kid is being a kid

It was really easy for me to feel guilty for mess, but also feel guilty for cleaning up said mess.  It was really easy for me to feel overwhelmed but not feel like I could say anything.  Lastly, I have a kid and sometimes he screams, and sometimes I am going to step on Cheerios and that will send me over the edge.  Sometimes I will be oblivious to the time.  Sometimes he is going to scream, in the middle of the night, it happens, and trust me  I don’t like it either. Hopefully, this will start working a little better I have a few weeks to work on it. 🙂

Things to do this week:

  • Have a paperwork/mail clear out day
  • Put laundry away (clothes need a self-hang button)
  • Plant some plants
  • Play more games

I played a lot of games this past week, notable mentions are 5-minute dungeon, Monarchs, and some stain glass game that I really may purchase because I really enjoyed it. There were more, but I am running out of writing time.


Until next time

~Reave~

Leave a Reply

